Stranger Danger / Blogophilia 49.3 Topic: “In the Eyes of the Beholder”

Blogophilia 49.3 Topic: “In the Eyes of the Beholder”

Bonus Points:

(Hard, 2pts): s-p-e-l-l out a word in conversation

(Easy, 1pt) : use the phrase “working together”

Stranger Danger

“I think I’m going to go talk to her.”

“What? Oh come on, Richey! You know that’s got to be a bad idea.”

Richey glanced over at his friend. Glenn was probably just jealous because he didn’t see her first. “Do you want to talk to her or something, Glenn?”

Rolling his eyes, Glenn replied, “No, Richey! That girl is bad news! You need to stay away from her!”

“Bad news is in the eyes of the beholder, Glenn. Look, she’s smiling at me. I think she’s beautiful!”

“While I have to admit that her ghastly white complexion is quite becoming, I can’t help but point out that something is not right with this whole situation. Danger, Will Robinson, D-A-N-G-E-R!”

“I think you are overreacting…”

“No. I am not overreacting. You can’t ignore the warning signs, man. That girl is bad news.”

“Warning signs?”

Glenn let out a deep sigh. He felt like he shouldn’t have too, but he was going to have to explain to Richey the pretty ghastly pale woman was a bad idea. “First of all that girls complexion is obviously not natural.”

“Lot’s of girls have milky complexions. This girl looks like she’s glowing.”

“That’s because she is glowing, Richey! Plus, if you really look at the smile of hers, it looks like she has fangs.”

“Just because a girl needs a little dental work doesn’t mean she’s bad news…”

“You don’t think the white nightgown sets off any alarms?”

“Lots of girls wear nightgowns.”

“Yeah! When they’re in bed or at home.”

“I have pajama day sometimes.”

“Okay, but what about the fact that she’s smiling at you from a graveyard.”

“Lots of people go to graveyards, Glenn! People are just dying to get into those places.”

Glenn let off a fake sarcastic laugh, “Very funny smart guy. Answer me this. Have you given thought to fact that she is not standing, but hovering a few inches off the ground?”

Richey became solemn, “Actually I have been wondering about that.”

“Well that’s good. Can we get going?”

“I think she must be some kind of angel or something.”

“Oh, come on Richey! An angel?”

“It’s the only thing that makes sense.”

“It’s not the only thing that makes sense. That girl is no angel. Can’t you see that all these warning signs are working together to spell out that this is not ordinary girl or angel, but is a creature of the night!”

Richey scoffed. “Someone’s been reading too many Joleene Naylor books.”

Glenn groaned, “Just because Joleene Naylor writes about vampires does not mean that they aren’t for real. The girl is obviously a blood sucking fiend!”

“Why? Because she is interested in me?”

“Arrrrrgh! Richey! You’re not thinking. They very fact that you are so infatuated with a strange women you’ve never seen before just now is an indication that something is absolutely wrong.”

“I believe in love at first sight, Glenn.”

“This is not love… Okay, Richey. I’ll tell you what? Why don’t you call her over here and we’ll talk to her.”

“I’m not going to call her over here.”

“Why not? I thought you wanted to talk to her.”

“I don’t want to scare her off.”

“Well I don’t see how calling her over here is going to scare…”

“Yeah right! Besides, I don’t need you harassing my potential girlfriends with some lame vampire test.”

“I was not going…”

“Sure.” Richey gave Glenn a smile. “Excuse me now. I am going to talk with that lovely lady alone. Glenn, don’t you try to mess this up for me. I am going to talk to her and I will talk to you later.”

Glenn sat and watched as his friend Richey walked off to meet the girl and the two disappeared in the graveyard together. He wanted to stop him. He wanted to tell him that he was making a mistake. But, Richey was an adult.

“Goodness, young man. You like you just lost your best friend. Is everything okay?”

Glenn spun at the elderly woman’s voice. All this talk about vampires had really gotten under his skin. “You surprised me, Ma’am. Everything is okay.”

“Well everything sure doesn’t look okay from where I’m standing,” persisted the elderly lady. “Go ahead and tell me what’s wrong. Sometimes it’s good to get things out in the open, even if you’re only sharing with an old stranger.”

Glenn studied the old lady. There was something comforting about her demeanor. She looked like she was going to break out the chocolate chip cookies at minute. “It’s just silly, Ma’am. I am sure nothing is wrong at all.”

“Come now, nothing that has given you such a worried expression can be silly. I think you should tell Granny all about what’s bothering you.”

Glenn could feel his resolve begin to crumble. “It’s just that my best friend just walked off with a girl in the graveyard.”

“Oh, and you liked this girl, too?”

“Not exactly.” Glenn could feel his face begin to flush.”

“Then what is it, dear?”

“I think he just walked off with a vampire.” Glenn couldn’t hold it back any longer. He had to tell someone.

The old lady began to giggle. “My! I guess I was wrong. That was pretty silly.”

“I know…”

“I don’t think you have anything to worry about. I don’t believe there is such a thing as vampires.”

“I know, but…”

The old lady kept on just as if Glenn had never tried to say anything. “You don’t need to watch out for vampires. Turtles, on the other hand, you need to watch out for turtles.”

“Turtles?” Glenn took a step back. The woman was obviously crazy.

“Yes, turtles. They disguise as old ladies and shoot their victims with stun guns.”

“What…”

Before Glenn could do or say anything more he had been stunned by the old ladies gun. The old lady spun around and in a booming voice spoke to what seemed like the air. “Take this one to the slave mines. The High Turtle Overlord will be quite pleased this day.” The turtle took off his old lady costume and shook his head at the stunned Glenn as turtles came out of hiding and began to drag him away. “That poor foolish man! It looks like he should have been reading less Joleene Naylor and more Jissilly, then he would not have so easily have fallen into our trap.”

Picture guesses: That’s not a girl, it’s a vampire. That’s not a dog, it’s a turtle. Oh no! I think we are both confused. Beach beauties.

Topic Nina Nixon

Picture DJ Myke

Photobucket

About thejissilly

I am the writer of the TTTC. If you want to know more than one day I will update this.
This entry was posted in Weird Story. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stranger Danger / Blogophilia 49.3 Topic: “In the Eyes of the Beholder”

  1. hahahahahahahahahahaha! nice!

    You have to watch out for those nice old ladies. You never know what they’re carrying in their purses!

Leave a Reply

